Wednesday, December 8, 2010

KBA polls: New office bearers notified

Chief Election Commissioner/ District and Sessions Judge Karachi East has notified the names of newly elected office bearers of Karachi Bar Association for the year 2011.Accordingly Muhammad Aqil has been elected as President, Abdul Hameed Yousuf Vice President, Syed Haider Imam Rizvi General Secretary, Mohammad Saeed Abbasi Joint Secretary, Zulfiqar Ali Solangi, Treasurer and Mohammad Shoaib Librarian. Besides, the above office bearers, the following have been elected as members of the Managing Committees.
Zulfiqar Ali, Dilshad Hussain, Ghulam Mustafa Siyal, Abdul Qadir Syed, Kafeel Ahmed Jafri, Sakina Khatoon, Farhana Siddiqui, Abdul Rashid, Mohammad Javed, Zakia (Lakho), Waqar Ahmed Siyal, Shah Imroze Khan (Shamroze), Faisal Mohammad Yaseen, Akbar Zameen Khatak and Aamir Maqsood were elected as members of the Managing Committees.

The annual elections of KBA were held on Dec 4, while District and Sessions Judge Karachi East was the chief election commissioner. 

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Mohammad Aqil Elects as President of Karachi Bar Assocaition, Haider Imam Rizvi as Secretary

KBA Elections 2011: Mohammed Aaqil elected president, Haider Imam Rizvi as secretary

 Mohammad Aqil Advocate President elect Karachi Bar Association for 2011
According to the results of the 64th annual elections held in Karachi Bar Association (KBA), Mohammed Aaqil has been elected for the office of presidency while Haider Imam Rizvi has been elected Secretary of the association, Geo News reported.
Haider Imam Rizvi - KBA General Secretary elect For 2011

The 64th annual elections of KBA were held in City Court on Saturday where only journalists and law practitioners were allowed entry.

It is pertinent to mention here that a number of 58 candidates took part on as many as 21 seats in KBA.

Victorious advocate, Mohammed Aaqil, won with a big margin as he secured 1708 votes against his front running opponent Naeem Qureshi, who got 1565 votes.

Over 60 percent turnout was recorded for the first time in KBA elections on Saturday wherein a total of 3429 votes were cast.

An unorthodox participation was noticed in KBA polls owing to provincial holiday and extraordinary security measures around City Court, which contributed massively in bring the voters to polls.

Friday, December 3, 2010

KBA elections to be held tomorrow

The annual elections of Karachi Bar Association KBA for the year 2010-2011 will be held tomorrow (December 4) for office bearers and the members of the Managing Committee.
Chief Election Commission District & Sessions Judge Sadiq Hussain Bhatti will supervise the election process. According to the election commission 58 candidates are in the field for 21 posts of KBA.
Tough contest is likely to be witnessed for some posts, as the candidates are claiming supports of the majority of members.
Two-time elected secretary of KBA Naeem Qureshi now contesting for the post of president, wherein Muhammad Aqil Awan is contesting against him. Similarly, six candidates are in the field for the post of vice president including, Abdul Hameed Yousufi, Dilawar Hussain, Masood Hussain Jan, Eithisham-ullah Khan, Muhammad Ali and Tariq Ali.
Four contenders have filed their nominations including Abdul Wahab Baloch, Khalid Mumtaz, Syed Hyder Imam Rizvi and Syed Muhammad Shuja Abbas filed for the secretary-ship.
Though, Mubashar Bashir Bhotta and Muhammad Saeed Abbas are contesting for the joint secretary post.
As many as six are taking part for treasurer post Atha-ullah, Gull Bibi, Muhammad Imran Khan, Zulfiqar Ali Solangi and Tabbasum Ashmat. Beside, 135 candidates are in the failed for the member of Managing Committee in which 16 would be elected.
The candidates however, have continued their election campaign, as the court premises is filled with banners and posters of the proposed candidates. The candidates have also held separate electioneering by holding meetings at their offices.